关注我们

优质海岸计划---
采访创始人

照片 ©jonasspott

© Good Travel Guide, 2021年7月

2021年7月6日,我们的团队采访了Green Destinations和QualityCoast项目的创始人Albert Salman,以了解更多关于该项目。他解释了该计划的历史,其特点和与其他认证或奖励计划的区别,以及它对保护沿海目的地的贡献。

能否请你介绍一下自己?

我是阿尔伯特-萨尔曼,我是Green Destinations的总裁,也是QualityCoast项目的创始人,早在2005年。

什么是QualityCoast奖?

"这个想法出现在20世纪90年代,当时,旅游业似乎增加了其在欧洲海岸线的生态足迹"

QualityCoast奖是在欧洲设立的。这个想法是在20世纪90年代产生的,当时看来,旅游业在欧洲海岸线上的生态足迹越来越多,特别是在地中海,但也包括法国和葡萄牙的西海岸以及北海和波罗的海。当时,每个沿海国家都越来越多地受到旅游业的压力。在20世纪90年代,我在欧洲海岸联盟工作,我们看到在广泛的意义上,旅游业对海岸管理的影响正在增加。因此,我们觉得有必要制定标准和指标,来说明如何在沿海环境中以更可持续的方式发展旅游业。我们从标准开始,后来我们提出了衡量达到标准的进展的指标。这导致了2006年的QualityCoast计划。

Green Destinations和QualityCoast奖之间有什么区别?

这两个奖项都是基于相同的标准,所以标准是一样的。Green Destinations标准现在有84个标准,世界上任何一个目的地,无论是南极洲还是热带地区,如果他们想宣称他们有可持续发展的旅游,都可以而且也许应该做到。 

"不同的是,我们使用不同的焦点"。

在QualityCoast项目中,我们更加关注洗澡水的质量,因为游客经常去沿海地区游泳,享受海岸和海水,我们关注沿海景观,因为开放的大海是人们去那里的一个非常重要的原因,我们关注海滨开发对沿海动态的影响方式。海岸不仅仅是一块土地。海岸是陆地和海洋之间的一个界面,它是一个动态的界面,所以你可以有侵蚀、洪水,甚至在海岸线上有沙浪经过时产生。因此,这是一个非常动态的情况,你也有气候变化导致海平面上升的复杂情况,目前已经有巨大的影响,但在未来,特别是在本世纪余下的时间里,预计海平面将上升2.5米,即使巴黎气候协议说我们不应该超过2℃的温度,结果将是海平面上升2.5米。这将对占全球旅游业80%的沿海旅游业产生巨大影响。这就是为什么我们需要在QualityCoast计划中设立一个沿海海洋计划,以特别关注这些问题。因此,我们也关注非常不同的指标来衡量实现可持续性的进展。

哪些目的地有资格获得QualityCoast奖?

每一个小岛屿都有资格,每一个位于海岸线上的旅游目的地也有资格。 

有多少个目的地通过了QualityCoast认证?

荷兰的Schouwen-Duiveland市是完全认证的。他们符合Green Destinations的全部标准,但全世界大约有40-50个目的地也参加了QualityCoast计划,至少获得了铜奖,这意味着合理地符合Green Destinations的标准(60%)。

为什么一个目的地应该获得QualityCoast Program的奖励,而不是其他认证计划?

"QualityCoast计划是唯一一个以沿海和海洋为重点的全球目的地认证"

我认为QualityCoast项目是非常明显的。世界上没有那么多的目的地认证,不到10个,而且大多数都不是全球性的,所以只有3、4个全球性的目的地认证,但它们没有沿海地区的重点。 因此,QualityCoast计划是唯一一个以沿海和海洋为重点的全球目的地认证。 沿海和海洋问题得到了特别的关注,并且有指标可以看出,目的地是否朝着正确的方向发展,或者是朝着错误的方向发展。这是我认为唯一一个让沿海地区参与的有意义的项目。

第二个原因是它对游客来说非常明显,因为我们有旗帜和横幅向观众展示QualityCoast的标志。在荷兰,有许多QualityCoast的目的地,他们不仅在海滩上,而且在道路上和城镇中都展示了旗帜和横幅。我们认为,这面旗帜反映了蓝色和黄色,海滩和大海,也可能是蓝天。它有一只海豚作为生态的象征,可以说是健康生态的象征,因为它是健康海洋的一个很好的指标。此外,我们非常重视宣传,因为QualityCoast和Green Destinations奖和认证与Good Travel Guide有关,它确保了公众对旅游业中真正的可持续发展的认识,并通过实例向人们说明了这点。我们在Good Travel Guide中没有使用 "可持续性 "这个词,或者说几乎没有,我们用标准和目的地表现中的重要关键问题的元素来澄清它在实践中的含义。

优质海岸奖对可持续发展的三大支柱(环境、经济和社会)有何贡献?

15年前,开始发展它的主要原因是环境问题。所以它对环境问题有非常强烈的关注。它使一个地方变得安全。我们不接受洗澡水不安全的说法。它应该有安全的洗浴,提倡在海滩上有蓝旗,这也意味着洗浴水安全和监督。我们对空气质量和其他广泛意义上的安全方面给予了很大的关注。自然和景观也是非常重要的方面。应该注意保护国家价值和景观。开放的景观对沿海度假区非常重要,所以我们真的强烈鼓励各目的地注意这一点。目的地也表明,他们改善了环境和自然景观的质量以及目的地的风景价值。这是最大的好处。

但第二大好处是当地社区对旅游业的参与。我们不把环境放在第一位,我们把人放在第一位。在我们看来,当地人、居民是旅游业的基石。你不应该有对当地社区有负面影响或损害的旅游。因此,我们强烈鼓励目的地管理者不仅将商业部门,而且将当地的利益相关者和社区纳入他们的旅游规划和管理中。例如,他们可以让他们参与调查,检查他们是否对现有的旅游水平感到满意。

第三,经济。没有商业模式就不可能有旅游,我们鼓励旅游目的地不要依赖国际企业,而要依赖当地商业部门。目的地应该有一个当地的商业部门,利用或从旅游业的发展中获利,而不是国际食品连锁店的分店,例如。当你有很多家庭和当地餐馆提供当地的食物时,食物也是更可持续的,因为它通常是在当地采购和当地准备的,这也使游客成为更好的目的地。因为你可以在拐角处吃麦当劳,所以你不需要去任何地方吃麦当劳的食物。去吃当地的食物,支持当地的经济。我在第3条中说过,当然,这也是旅游业的基础。没有一个充满活力的地方经济,你就不可能有有利于当地社区的旅游。 

你还有什么要提到的吗?

QualityCoast这个名字包括 "质量 "一词,而不是 "绿色 "一词,因为你不可能在一个品牌中拥有所有的词。但我认为质量这个词非常重要,因为沿着海岸线,虽然80%的旅游是在海岸线上,但并不总是在自然区域,就像在西班牙的Costas,它往往是一个非常城市的环境。如果你运气好的话,可能会有棕榈树种植在河岸边,但你看的是质量,是生活的质量。生活质量是非常重要的,这也许是人们去海岸放松的原因。它不可能总是绿色的,也许它只是蓝色和沙黄色,但它的质量是可持续发展的结果,因为它们真的联系在一起。

注册

你没有注册的权限

Follow us

QualityCoast Program -
Interview with the founder

Photo ©jonasspott

© Good Travel Guide, July 2021

On the 6th July 2021, our team has interviewed Albert Salman, founder of Green Destinations and of the QualityCoast program to learn more about it. He explains the history of the program, its characteristics and differences with other certification or award schemes, and its contribution to the protection of coastal destinations.

Could you please introduce yourself?

I am Albert Salman, I am president of Green Destinations and also the founder of the QualityCoast program, back in 2005.

What is the QualityCoast Award?

“The idea came in the 1990s when it appeared that tourism had increased its ecological footprints on the European coastlines”

The QualityCoast award was created in Europe. The idea came in the 1990s when it appeared that tourism had increased its ecological footprints on the European coastlines, especially in the Mediterranean but also in the west coasts of France and Portugal and the north sea and the Baltic sea. Every coastal country was increasingly under pressure of tourism at the time. In the 1990s, I was working in the European Coastal Union and we saw that the impact of tourism was increasing in coastal management in a wide sense. So we felt there was a need for criteria and indicators for how you can develop tourism in a coastal environment in a more sustainable way. We started with the criteria, later we came with indicators measuring progress in meeting criteria. And that resulted in the QualityCoast program in 2006.

What is the difference between Green Destinations and QualityCoast Awards?

Both awards are based upon the same set of criteria, so the same standard. The Green Destinations Standard has now 84 criteria, what any destinations in the world, whether it is in Antarctica or the tropics can and maybe should do if they want to claim that they are having sustainable tourism. 

“The difference is that we use different focuses.”

In the QualityCoast program, we look more strongly at bathing water quality because tourists are often going to the coasts to swim and to enjoy the coast and marine waters, we look at coastal landscapes because the open sea is a very important reason for people to go there and we look at the way waterfront development is having an impact on coastal dynamics. The coast is not just a piece of land. The coast is an interface between land and sea and it is a dynamic interface so you can have erosion, floodings, or even creation when there is a sand wave passing by along the coastline. So it is a very dynamic situation in which you have also the complication of climate change resulting in sea level rise, with huge implications currently already but in the future especially with a 2.5m sea-level rise expected in the rest of this century Even with the Paris climate agreement saying that we should not go more than 2°C warmings, the result would be a 2.5m sea-level rise. This will have huge implications on coastal tourism which represents 80% of tourism worldwide. That is the reason that we need a coastal marine program within the QualityCoast program to look at these issues especially. So we look at very different indicators as well to measure progress towards sustainability.

Which destinations are eligible for the QualityCoast Award?

Every small island is eligible, also every tourism destination which is located along a coastline. 

How many destinations are QualityCoast certified?

The municipality of Schouwen-Duiveland in the Netherlands is fully certified. They complied with the whole of Green Destinations standards but there are about 40-50 destinations around the world that also participate in the QualityCoast program with at least a bronze award which means reasonable compliance to the Green Destinations criteria (60%)

Why should a destination get awarded by QualityCoast Program rather than another certification scheme?

“The QualityCoast program is the only global destination certification with a coastal and marine focus”

I think the QualityCoast program is very visible. There are not so many destination certifications in the world, less than 10 and most of them are not global so there are only 3 or 4 global destination certifications but they do not have a coastal focus. So the QualityCoast program is the only global destination certification with a coastal and marine focus that pays special attention to coastal and marine issues and has indicators that make it visible, whether destinations move in the right direction or maybe into the wrong direction. This is the only one I think that makes sense for coastal destinations to participate in.

A second reason is also that it is very visible for the visitors because we have flags and banners showing the QualityCoast logo to the audience. Here in the Netherlands, there are a number of QualityCoast destinations and they display the flag and banners, not only on the beach but also on the roads and into the towns. We think the flag is reflecting, with the blue and the yellow, the beach and the sea and also maybe the blue sky. And it has a dolphin as a symbol of ecology, of, let’s say, healthy ecology because it is a good indicator of a healthy sea. Also, we have a lot of attention to promotion because the QualityCoast and the Green Destinations Award and Certification are connected with the Good Travel Guide, which ensures public visibility of what is really sustainable in tourism and clarifies that to the people with examples. We do not use the word “sustainability” actually in the Good Travel Guide, or hardly, we clarify what it means in practice with elements that are the important key issues in the standards and the performance of the destinations.

How does the QualityCoast Award contribute to the three pillars of sustainable development (environment, economy and society)?

The main reason, 15 years ago, to start developing it was the environment. So it has a very strong focus on environmental issues. It makes a place safe. We don’t accept that bathing waters are unsafe. It should have safe bathing and promote having a blue flag on the beach, which also means bathing water safety and supervision. We give a lot of attention to air quality and other aspects of safety in a wide sense. Nature and landscapes are also very important aspects. There should be attention to protect national values and the landscapes. Open landscapes are very important for coastal resorts so we really strongly encourage destinations to pay attention to that. That is also shown by destinations that they improved the environmental and natural landscapes quality and the scenic values of the destinations. That is the biggest benefit.

But the second biggest benefit is the involvement of local communities in tourism. We do not put the environment first, we put people first. Locals, residents are, in our view, the cornerstone of tourism. You should not have tourism that is negative or damaging for the local community. So we strongly encourage the destination managers to include not only the business sector but also the local stakeholders and community in their planning and management of tourism. They can for example involve them in surveys to check if they are satisfied with the level of tourism that there is.

Thirdly, economy. You cannot have tourism without a business model and we encourage destinations not to rely on international businesses but the local business sector. Destinations should have a local business sector that takes advantage or profits from tourism development and not outlets of international food chains for example. When you have a lot of family and local restaurants offering local food, the food is also more sustainable because it is often locally sourced and locally prepared and that makes a better destination also for visitors. Because you can eat McDonald’s around the corner, so you do not need to go anywhere to eat McDonald’s food. Go for the local food that supports the local economy in the place. I said it in number 3 but of course, it is the base of tourism. Without a vibrant local economy, you cannot have tourism that benefits the local community. 

Is there anything else you would like to mention?

The name QualityCoast includes the word “quality”, not the word “green” because you cannot have all the words in one brand. But I think the word quality is very important because along the coast, while 80% of tourism is on the coast, is not always in nature areas, like in the Spanish Costas, it is often a very urban environment. Maybe if you are lucky there are palm trees planted in the esplanades, but what you look at there is quality, the quality of life. The quality of life is so important and is maybe the reason why people go to the coast to relax. And it cannot always be green, maybe it is just blue and sandy yellow but its quality is the result of sustainability because they are really linked.

Register

You don't have permission to register